Union Health Ministry has Designated all major cities as Red Zones.

Shubham Jaiswal ([email protected])

The Union Health Ministers has assigned all significant metropolitan urban areas – Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Bengaluru and Ahmedabad as red zones after the lockdown ends on May 3, and asked states and local bodies to demarcate containment areas and buffer zones for strict monitoring of movement.
In a letter to chief secretaries of all states and union territories, Union health secretary Preeti Sudan gave a list of 130 red zones, 284 orange zones and 319 green zones at the district level across the country for containment operations. Mint has viewed a copy of the letter.
In the spirit of effective containment, it is advisable to err on the side of caution. Further, a buffer zone around containment zone has to be demarcated.

Related Articles

Back to top button